A celebration of participating and school involvement took place in Loreto College on Monday, 22 May.  The many students committees in the school from Leadership to Wellbeing and from Student Council to Arts and Drama all received trophies and certificates.  The girls who lead Morning Prayer, the green team, the catering team, the library, the language group were all acknowledged by Ms Gunn and Mr Macnamara and they were thanked for the example that they set in the college.

The College had many successes this year on the Sports Field.  Medals were presented for basketball, volleyball, athletics, swimming, chess and show jumping.  The Guest of Honour at the celebration was Dublin Footballer Jonny Cooper.  Jonny presented the Leinster U-16 Cup to Orla Phelan, Ellen Grant and Lauren McKittrick.  Players of the year were rewarded in all of the main sports with Aisling Ennis, Ashley Jacob, Jordan Murphy, Jayde Whitton, Annabelle Timothy, Shannon Murtagh, Lucy McGowan and Ali McGrath all receiving beautiful trophies.

There were student awards presented by teachers in the practical subjects.  Awards were presented for outstanding exemplary attendance.  Two special awards went to Emma Louise Steele and Benita Mbanusi who never missed a day of school for the whole five years.

The students of the year for 2016/17 were awarded with Katie Heffernan and Orla Phelan receiving the two accolades.  Katie Heffernan (Deputy Head Girl) addressed the whole school community and paid particular tribute to the outstanding teachers who strive each day to help each students achieve her potential

Mr Jonny Cooper encouraged all the students to turn their failures into feedback, to learn from their mistakes and to come back stronger.  This is how it has worked for him on and off the GAA pitch.  The college is very thankful to Jonny for taking the time to acknowledge the school’s achievements this year.

The price giving ceremony concluded with the announcement of Amy Herbert and Kaya Connolly as Head Girl and Deputy Head Girl for 2017/18.

Mr Macnamara reiterated Katie’s message of thanks to the teachers in the school who give such wholehearted dedication to their teaching on a daily basis.  He worked all the girls’ success in their exams over the next numbers of weeks.

  Click here for photos 

Link to Memories of 2016/17 which we played at our Annual Prizegiving Awards


Annual Prizegiving